Blaue Hintergrundillustration


Digital ceremony for Goethe Medal winners

The Goethe Medal is traditionally awarded in Weimar on 28 August, the birthday of Johann Wolfgang von Goethe. This year, the Goethe-Institut in cooperation with Deutsche Welle is organising a digital ceremony for a worldwide audience: The Bolivian multidisciplinary artist Elvira Espejo Ayca, the British writer Ian McEwan and the South African writer, publisher and curator Zukiswa Wanner will be presented with short films and in conversation with the president of the Goethe-Institut Klaus-Dieter Lehmann. Three prominent eulogists pay tribute to them: Barbara Göbel, ethnologist and director of the Ibero-American Institute Berlin (Elvira Espejo Ayca), the journalist and author Franziska Augstein (Ian McEwan) and the writer and publisher Zoë Beck (Zukiswa Wanner). Students and teachers of the Franz Liszt Weimar Academy of Music from Mozambique, Brazil, Australia and Bolivia, under the direction of Tiago de Oliveira Pinto, offer special musical interludes with compositions that they have selected and created especially for the prizewinners. DW presenter Karin Helmstaedt will lead through the ceremony.

You can also follow the stream in English on:

To overview